Japan Car of the Year (JCOTY) 2010/2011

Another hybrid model has been picked as Japan’s Car of the Year (JCOTY), certainly a reflection of the growing popularity of such vehicles which were first introduced in the late 1990s. Last year’s JCOTY was the Toyota Prius and this year, it’s the sporty Honda CR-Z pictured above (the Honda Insight, also a hybrid model, was second-placed in last year’s JCOTY).

Volkswagen Polo – runner-up
and Import Car of the Year

The runner-up was an imported model – the latest Volkswagen Polo – which was the highest position ever achieved by a non-Japanese make. It impressed the 60 judges so much that only 9 points separated it from the winner. It was also winner of the Import Car category, of course. Incidentally, the VW Golf was third in last year’s JCOTY and also the Import Car of the Year winner.

Third is the New Suzuki Swift (sold in Japan), followed by the Peugeot RCZ and the Nissan March rounding off the top five. The other five models making up the top ten (in order of points scored) are the latest BMW 5-Series, Jaguar XJ, Mazda Premacy (new Mazda5), Toyota Mark X and Mercedes-Benz E-Class.

Click here to see last year’s JCOTY winners


1980/1981: Mazda Familia (323)

1981/1982: Toyota Soarer

1982/1983: Mazda Capella (626)

1983/1984: Honda Civic

1984/1985: Toyota MR2

1985/1986: Honda Accord

1986/1987: Nissan Pulsar (Sentra)

1987/1988: Mitsubishi Galant

1988/1989: Nissan Silvia SX

1989/1990: Toyota Celsior (Lexus LS)

1990/1991: Mitsubishi Galant

1991/1992: Honda Civic

1992/1993: Nissan March

1993/1994: Honda Accord

1994/1995: Mitsubishi FTO

1995/1996: Honda Civic

1996/1997: Mitsubishi Galant

1997/1998: Toyota Prius

1998/1999: Toyota Altezza (Lexus IS200)

1999/2000: Toyota Vitz (Yaris)

2000/2001: Honda Civic

2001/2002: Honda Fit (Jazz)

2002/2003: Honda Accord

2003/2004: Subaru Legacy

2004/2005: Honda Legend

2005/2006: Mazda MX-5

2006/2007: Lexus LS460

2007/2008: Honda Fit (Jazz)

2008/2009: Toyota iQ

2009/2010: Toyota Prius



That’s all folks, thanks for having the time and patience to read this blog entry.